Area: 823.1 sq. km.
Population: 1009.8 thousand habitants (2006)
Capital: Bac Ninh City
Town: Tu Son
Districts: Que Vo, Yen Phong, Tien Du, Thuan Thanh, Gia Binh, Luong Tai.
Ethnic groups: Viet (Kinh), Tay, Nung, Muong...


 
   
   
s

Geography (Click here to see location)
Bac Ninh is located in the Red River Delta region. It is surrounded by Bac Giang to the north, Hung Yen to the south, Hai Duong to the east, and Hanoi to the west. The topography is quite flat with a complex network of rivers and springs, including Cau, Duong, and Thai Binh rivers.

Climate:
The province has moon soon weather, cold winter. The annual average temperature is 24?C. The highest one is 30?C in July; the lowest one is 15?C in January. The annual average rainfall is 1,400mm?- 1,600mm. The rainy season lasts from May to October and the dry season lasts from December to April next year.

TourismQuan Ho folk song
Bac Ninh used to be an ancient town, a trade centre of Vietnam from 2nd to 10th century. Buddhism penetrates into there early and flourished on Ly dynasty.Bac Ninh has tangible and intangible culture heritage. Many pagodas and temples were built such as Phat Tich, Dau, But Thap pagodas, Dinh Bang Communal House, Do Temple. Bac Ninh is cradle of Quan ho folk-song. The popular festivals take place in many pagodas, temples and communal houses, especcially they usually are orgazed in spring. Bac Ninh has some tradition handicraft villages such as Dong Ky Wood, Dong Ho Pain, Dai Bai Bronze, Phu Lang Pottery.

Transportation
Bac Ninh is 30km from Hanoi, 110km from Haiphong, 20km from Bac Giang, 45km from Noi Bai International Airport. It is on the National Highway No.1A, 18, 38.

 

         
   

But Thap Pagoda

Location: Situated on the dike of the Duong River, Dinh To Commune, Thuan Thanh District, Bac Ninh Province.
Characteristics: The pagoda was built in 17th century, according to "Noi Cong Ngoai Quoc" architectural style.

   
         

The pagoda was built in the 17th century, during the late Le Dynasty.  Its founder was Chinese Buddhist Priest Zhus Zhus, who died in 1644. Queen Mother Trinh Thi Ngoc Truc requested that Lord Trinh Trang enlarge the pagoda in 1646.
The pagoda was built according to "Noi Cong Ngoai Quoc" architectural style, and includes 10 buildings spread over 100m, from the three-entrance gate to the bell-tower and back house. Two towers, 10m high Ton Duc and 13m high Bao Nghiem, are made of white rock, making the pagoda seem higher, more majestic and peaceful. Some remains of the 17th century are kept here such as statues, valuable donations, Nine-Story Lotus Tower, Tuyet Son Statue, Bao Nghiem Tower, and Statue of Kwan Yin with 1,000 arms and 1,000 eyes. The last renovations of the structure were carried out in 1992.

 

 

         
   

Dau Pagoda

Location: Situated in Dau Village, Thanh Khuong Commune, Thuan Thanh District, Bac Ninh Province.
Characteristics: Built in the 3rd century, Dau Pagoda is the oldest pagoda in Vietnam.

   
         

In the beginning, the pagoda was a Buddhist center well known throughout the country and abroad. At the end of the 4th century, Ch’an Master Vinitaruci gave lectures and the first Vietnamese Buddhist doctrine was produced there.
Mac Dinh Chi, a mandarin under the Tran Dynasty, enlarged the pagoda in the 14th century and the pagoda underwent several renovations during the following centuries.
In the pagoda’s yard, there is a three - storey tower called Hoa Phong. In the tower, there is a large bell produced in 1793, a big bronze gong produced during the 18th year of the reign of Minh Menh (1817) and statues of Phap Van, Kim Dong, and Ngoc Nu, followers of the Goddess of Mercy according to Buddhist legends.

 

         
   

Dinh Bang Communal House

Location: Situated in Dinh Bang Village, Tu Son Town, Bac Ninh Province, 15km from Hanoi.
Characteristics: Dinh Bang together with Dong Khang and Diem Communal Houses were the most beautiful ones in Vietnam.

   
         

If visitors ride on highway 1A from Hanoi towards Bac Ninh Province and turn right at the Km 15 milestone, they will reach Dinh Bang Village in Tu Son District. The village was the native place of Ly Cong Uan (or King Ly Thai To) - founder of the Ly Dynasty (1010-1225) and Thang Long Capital (present - day Hanoi) (1010).
The village comprises a group of historical and cultural relics, especially those of the Ly Dynasty, which are diverse, unique and national historical significance, including temples, pagodas, tombs, and monuments. They are typical of the Vietnamese village culture.
Dinh Bang Communal House was built in the early 18th century and construction was completed in 1736. The first effort was attributed to Nguyen Thac Luong, a mandarin and native of Dinh Bang Village, and his wife Nguyen Thi Nguyen, a native of Thanh Hoa Province (Central Vietnam), who bought hard wood and donated it to the villagers to erect the communal house. There are folk verses from time immemorial like this:
First ranks the Dong Khang Communal House.
Second, the Dinh Bang, and third, the Diem.
Up to now, the Dong Khang Communal House no longer exits, and only remain the Dinh Bang Communal House. Located in the centre of the village, it is an architectural site full of national identiy with unique carving and decoration.
The house faces south, with a lake at its front where duet singing of boats used to be organised, attracting innumerable visitors during the village festivals.
The central gate was built with bricks in the shape of a lantern. At its two sides there are vaulted gates with fake roofs.
On the two pillars of the communal house parallel sentences are carved which remind every villager to follow the teachings:
The village conventions are painstakingly established by the ancestors,
Traditional fine customs and habits are seriously implemented by their descendants.  
Behind the gate is a large yard paved with stones. On its left and right sides, colourful flowers and luxuriant bushes grow harmoniously.
Although having the experience of the ups and downs of war and the passage of time, the worshiping pavilion retains its extreme beauty. Also called the "great palace", it was built on high ground and is circled by two green stone stairs that gives the palace an imposing look. The four roofs stretch in four directions and cover the verandas, with rising dragon shaped ends. The tiles are large and deep green with moss. This image reminds the visitor of an old folk verse:
Passing the communal house, I take off my conical hat and look at it,
I feel I love you as much as there are tiles on its roof...
The pavilion floor was made of hard timber, and its pillars are as big as two men's hand embraces. Each carving at Dinh Bang Communal House is like a masterpiece and is reputed for its uniqueness, which impresses any visitor. The carving is eight horses happily playing on a meadow; awaiting lion couple, each in its own posture: dragons in festivals; five dragons fighting for a gem; etc. The topic for these carving comes from traditional legends, and the images are of the four sacred animals (dragon, lion, tortoise and phoenix), or four valuable plants (pine, apricot, chrysanthemum, and little bamboo).
Three genies are worshipped at Dinh Bang Communal House, including Earth, Water and Cultivation. Memorial statues of six family patron saints, who made great contributions to re-building it after a big fire took place in the 15th century, include the Nguyen, Tran, Le, Ngo, Do and Dang erected at the back of the palace.
Every year, Dinh Bang spring festival is organised, luring a great number of visitors, who come to enjoy traditional entertainments and relaxation after hard working days.

 

         
   

Do Temple

Location: Located in Dinh Bang Village, Tu Son Town, Bac Ninh Province, 15km from Hanoi.
Characteristics: Do Temple worship the eight Kings of Ly Dynasty and is famous for its unique architecture.

   
         

Formerly, the Do Temple was famous for its architecture, highly praised through the verses:
"The architecture of the Do Temple is marvelous,
Worthy to the thousand-year-old history of Thang Long"
Do Temple was built during the Le Dynasty and has been altered several times since. The major reconstruction took place under the reign of Le Trung Hung, in the 17th century.
In front of the Temple lies a semi-circular lake, with clear and full water all the year round. The lake is connected with two ponds at both ends of the village, with the Tieu Tuong River in front of the village. In the center of the lake stands a square house reserved for water puppetry performances with two beautiful tiered roofs. To the south of the lake, there is a huge pavilion to preserve stone slabs inscribed with the merits of the eight kings of Ly Dynasty, and to the north of the lake, a 5-compartment floating house for visitors to take a rest.
The Temple's gate includes five doors made of hard wooden plates assembled together and carved on top images of dragons waiting upon the moon. When the door opens, its two leaves are wide apart, and the two dragons on top of the doors seem to be soaring. On day, the dragons' eyes when catching the light shine like gemstones. Along the three-step staircase, are carved two stone dragons with clouds around, on a green stone floor, symbolizing the Thang Long (Soaring Dragon) Capital.
Passing the gate and a large yard, a green stone paved road leads visitors to a square house, with eight tiered roofs and three compartments, 70m² in area. Then there is a 7-compartment front worship house, 220m² in area, whose front walls are hung with two big posters displaying capital letters: "Eight Kings together brightening" and "Co Phap Commune - a foundation of the Ly Dynasty".
Then a three-compartment house, 80m² in area, with eight tiered roofs. These three compartments are spacious and ventilated and on the axis leading to the Co Phap ancient back pavilion, 180m² in area, and with the floor space in the shape of a Cong letter...
Different parts of the Do Temple are being restored one after another by skilful craftsmen. A rolling of drumbeats was suddenly heard, signaling the start of a procession to bring the tablet of King Ly Thai To from the Do Temple to the Ung Tam Pagoda where the King's mother was worshipped for a reunion of the King and his mother. The procession was attended by a thousand of people, who expressed the spirit of the Vietnamese, i.e. "when drinking the water, think of its source".

 

   

 

   
 

 

Phat Tich Pagoda

Location: Phat Tich, Phuong Hoang Commune, Tien Du District, Bac Ninh Province.

Characteristics: Buddhist monks were trained in the past in Phat Tich Pagoda.

 

 
   

 

   

The pagoda, also called Van Phuc Pagoda, was built between the 7th and 10th centuries, and underwent several transformations throughout the years. It was first renovated during the Ly Dynasty. In 1057, King Ly Thanh Tong had a tower erected and a golden statue made. Later in the 17th century, the pagoda was enlarged. Unfortunately, the pagoda was ravaged by the war in 1947 and was rebuilt again in a simpler style in 1958. However, since 1991, the pagoda has been reconstructed following ancient architectural designs. Among the remains of the pagoda is a statue of Buddha. The columns are decorated with intricately carved lotus flowers and various types of traditional musical instruments.