Yen Tu Tourist site and other temple in Quang Ninh

 

   

 

   
 

 

An Sinh Temple and Tran Tombs

Location: The temple and tombs of the Tran Dynasty are situated in the An Sinh Commune, Dong Trieu District, Quang Ninh Province.
Characteristics: They are scattered on an area of 20km in radius, dedicated to the eight emperors of the Tran Dynasty.
They were built in the period of Tran Dynasty and restored many times under the following Le and Nguyen Dynasties

 

 
   

 

   

Apart from the building of ceremonial shrines at every tomb, the An Sinh Temple was also built with many large shrines for the celebration of anniversary ceremonies. The whole zone became a sacred area held in solemn reverence throughout the Tran, Le and Nguyen Dynasties.
Over time, the area has severely deteriorated, but today, is gradually being restored.
An Sinh Temple Area belongs to Nghia Hung Hamlet which is used to dedicate 8 kings of Tran and the tombs of Tran Thai Tong, Tran Thanh Tong and Gian Dinh De. Tran Anh Tong Tomb is located in Loc Camp, Tran Minh Tong Tomb is in Khe Gach, Tran Hien Tong Tomb is in Ao Beo, Tran Du Tong Tomb is in Dong Tron, Tran Nghe Tong Tomb is in Khe Nghe areas. Besides the constructing the temple in each tomb for dedicate, many big temples were built in An Sinh Temple Area by the court for respect-paying audience. It was defended carefully by mandarins. This area became solemn holly land through Tran, Le, Nguyen Dynasties.


 

   

 

   
 

 

Bac Ma Pagoda

Location: Bac Ma Pagoda belongs to Bac Ma Hamlet of Binh Duong Village, in the Dong Trieu District, Quang Ninh Province.
Characteristics: It was built in the 15th century to grandiose proportions and passed through restoration periods in 1608, 1739, 1768 and 1835.

 

 
   

 

   

In 1926, it was rebuilt to an even greater scale, attracting many adepts and disciples of Buddhism. It also served as the headquarters for the "Fourth Base" of North Vietnam during the revolution against French colonialists.
It was entirely destroyed during the war, but the site is still a place of solemn commemoration organized by the Dong Trieu authorities on June 8 every year.

 

 

 

   

 

   
 

 

Bach Dang Stake – Yard

Location: Located in the marshy zone of Yen Giang Commune, Yen Hung District, Quang Ninh Province, that borders the Chanh River.
Characteristics: The stake-yard is the site where Tran Hung Dao, a national hero of the 13th century, is forever honoured.

 

 
   

 

   

It was officially recognized as one of Vietnam’s historic vestiges on March 22, 1988; the 700th anniversary of a great victory at Bach Dang against Mongol invaders.
When the local people built a dyke in 1953, they discovered the Bach Dang stake-yard. There remain hundreds of stakes arranged in the zigzag-shaped (shape of the letter Z). Some are vertical; some others are inclined 15o to the east. Most of the stakes are made of ironwood. They were bevelled in one end, and their heads were broken. Their average length ranges from 2 to 2.8m, even up to 3.2m. The bevelled part is 0.8 to 1m. The stakes lie 0.5-1.5m under ground. The whole 220m2 stake ground is now protected by dyke. Of the stakes, 42 remain intact 2m under a layer of mud and jut out 0.2-2m. The density of stakes in the southern part of the ground is 1 stake over 0.9-1m2; meanwhile that of the northern part is 1 stake over 1.5-2m2. Just 3km away from the town centre, the Tran Hung Dao Temple lies at a strip of land stretching to the middle of the river in Yen Giang Commune. Legend has it that when Tran Hung Dao came to Trung Ban mound to investigate the topography of the locality to prepare for the Bach Dang battle, his hair knot got loose. He stopped, pushing his sword in the ground, to twist his hair into a chignon. The local fishermen saw this and built a temple dedicated to him right in this place.
In 1288, after two unsuccessful military offensives (1258 and 1285), 300,000 Mongol invaders led by Thoat Hoan and force of 7,000,000kg rice food led by Truong Van Ho went to Thang Long by road and water way. The ruling Tran Court organized a plan of strategic withdrawal, and established guerrilla warfare to wear down their enemy. The invading forces dwindled, tried by both the climate and the constant attacks and were forced to withdraw. Tran Hung Dao had his men plant steel-tipped wooden stakes in the bed of the Bach Dang River to create a line of defence blocking the Mongol retreat.
On 9th April 1288 as the fleet entered the mouth of the river, a few small boats engaged the enemy. The tide ebbed, and the fleet was thrown on to the wooden stakes, while Tran Hung Dao's army moved in for the kill. The 300,000 men were either killed or taken prisoner, and 400 enemy warships were destroyed.
Bach Dang Victory in 1288 was a glorious victory, which marked in the Vietnamese history against the invaders, and the Stake - Yard in Yen Giang Lagoon was an evidence of the glorious feat of arms.

  

   

 

   
 

 

Cay Lim Gieng Rung

Location: The two - Cay Lim of Gieng Rung grow at the base of Tien Son Mountain in the Yen Hung District, Quang Ninh Province.
Characteristics: These trees are more than 700 years old; remnants of the ancient forests once situated along the Bach Dang River.

 

 
   

 

   

Notwithstanding their age and the harsh climate, they are still green and vigorous, forming a simple monument to the historic past of the area. The two trees have been recognized as a historic vestige of Vietnam.

 

 

 

 

   

 

   
 

 

Cua Ong Temple

Location: It is located in the Cua Ong Quarter of Cam Pha Town, 40km from Halong City to the north-east.
Characteristics: It was built according to the Chinese character "cong" which consists of a three-compartment Front Ceremonial Hall, a two-compartment Back Ceremonial Hall, and a three-compartment Back Sanctuary.

 

 
   

 

   

The temple was built at the beginning of the 19th century, and included three main areas: the lower temple (Den Ha), the middle temple (Den Trung) and the upper temple (Den Thuong). In the lower temple, people observe the cult of the mother (Mau), while the upper temple is sacred to the cult of Tran Quoc Tang. Formerly, in the main temple, people observed the worship of Hoang Cau, a regional hero, but it was later changed to honour the third son of Tran Hung Dao, who was very heroic in the defence of the border in the Cua Suot area.
This unique temple is sacred to the cult of the whole family of Tran Hung Dao. There are 34 statues and statuettes, elaborately and meticulously carved, and with striking engravings depicting various scenes. These statues are of: Tran Hung Dao, his wife (Thanh Mau), the two princesses (Tran Hung Dao's daughters), Tran Quoc Tang, Tran Anh Tong, Tran Khanh Du, Yet Kieu, Da Tuong, Pham Ngu Lao, Le Phu Tran and Do Khac Chung.
The Cua Ong Temple's annual festival begins on the second day of the first lunar month and lasts three months in spring.


   

 

   
 

 

Long Tien Pagoda

Location: The pagoda is situated at the foot of Bai Tho Mount in the Chua Long Tien Street, near Halong Market, in Quang Ninh Province.
Characteristics: Built in 1941, Long Tien is the biggest pagoda and a well-known historical place in Halong City

 

 
   

 

   

The pagoda has original and unique architectural style of the Nguyen Dynasty. Atop the three-gate entrance stands a statue of Buddha in a sitting position. Below is a bell tower, featuring three words Long Tien Tu (Long Tien Pagoda), flanked by two parallel panels. The main altar is dedicated to Buddha. The altar on the right worships generals of the Tran Dynasty, while the altar on the left is dedicated to the Holy Mother of Three Palaces.
It is very convenient for tourists to come there as the pagoda lies in the heart of Halong City. In the past, the festival of Long Tien Pagoda opened on the 24th day of the third lunar month. At present, every day is a festival. Tourists and Buddhist followers from near and far visit the pagoda for sightseeing, or presenting their offerings to Buddha. The pagoda gets extremely crowed on the 1st and the 15th day of each month and during Tet traditional holiday.

 

 

 

   

 

   
 

 

Luu Khe Communal House

Location: Luu Khe Communal House is situated in the Luu Khe Village, Lien Hoa Commune, Yen Hung District, Quang Ninh Province.
Characteristics: It was built in 1822 - the third year of Emperor Minh Mang's reign to honour the two founders of the village - Do Do and Dao Ba Le.

 

 
   

 

   

Their services united people at the mouth of the Bach Dang River to make dykes that would form the village of Luong Qui in 1434. This village is today comprised of the hamlets of Quynh Bieu and Luu Khe.
It is built in the shape of the letter "dinh" (J). The communal house of Luu Khe bears the specific style of the popular engravings of village communal houses at the end of the 17th century, with images of dragons, shrimp, fish, lotus, unicorns, tortoises, phoenixes, flowers and clouds.
Festivities in the communal house take place on the 7th day of the first lunar month. They include a celebration of the longevity of the elderly people in the village and the staging of a procession to the communal house.


 

 

   

 

   
 

 

Phong Coc Communal House

Location: Phong Coc Communal House is situated in the centre of Phong Coc Commune, Ha Nam Island, Yen Hung District, Quang Ninh Province.
Characteristics: It was built at the end of the 17th century to honour the village's tutelary genie and four Lady Saints.

 

 
   

 

   

Phong Coc Communal House is built in the shape of the letter "dinh" (J). Its Front Ceremonial Hall has seven compartments and two lean-tos; meanwhile its Back Ceremonial Hall comprises five compartments and two lean-tos. Its Back Sanctuary also includes two compartments. The Communal House is 35m long and 15m wide. Its main pillars measure over 1 meter in perimeter. Eight lines of main pillars and two lines of supportive ones hold a 600-square meter ancient tiled roof.
The barge-board curves in tune with the scimitar edges, shaping the elegant structure of the Communal House. On the two main ironwood doors are carved with dragons and phoenixes flying in cloud. The exquisite carvings, especially those depicting the activities in daily life in the roof beams reveal that this construction is a treasure of Vietnamese architecture.The building is not only an attractive stop for thousands of domestic and foreign tourists, but it has also aided researchers in achieving a deeper insight of the architecture and culture of ancient Vietnamese villages.



 

   

 

   
 

 

Quan Lan Communal House

Location: Quan Lan Communal House is situated with a group of pagodas and shrines on Quan Lan Island Commune in the Van Don District, Quang Ninh Province, 35km from Cam Pha Town and 55km from Ha Long City.
Characteristics: It was built at end of the Later Le Dynasty (in the 17th century) and was restored on numerous occasions during the Nguyen Dynasty

 

 
   

 

   

It is dedicated to the founding fathers of the village, and also to Tran Khanh Du, the man who sunk the food supply boats of Truong Van Ho. This contribution was of great importance to the victory on the Bach Dang River in 1288.
It is built in the shape of the letter I. Its Front Ceremonial Hall has five compartments and two lean-tos. Its Back Sanctuary includes three compartments. The communal house has 32 big ironwood pillars, 26 smaller ironwood pillars. Its roof carved scale- tiles, atop of its roof has two carving dragons flanking a moon.
The main decorative themes of the building are: dragons, phoenixes, flowers and leaves, all formed in different styles at the ends of columns and frameworks. The most precious artefact still preserved in the communal house is a statue of Tran Khanh Du with 18 royal decrees from the Emperors Nguyen conferring the title of tutelary genie on him.
Next to it is Quan Lan Pagoda which is dedicate to Buddha, and Nghe Shrine which is dedicate Mr. Pham Cong Chinh, a local hero.
Visiting Quan Lan Island, tourists are not only enjoyed the landscape but also take bathing in the beaches: Son Hao, Dau Nui and Minh Chau.
The village festivities take place here from the 10th to 20th of the sixth lunar month (the official day is on the 18th day) but the atmosphere lasts all month long.

 

   

 

   
 

 

Quang Ninh Museum

Location: Quang Ninh Museum is located at 165 Nguyen Van Cu, Halong City, Quang Ninh Province.
Characteristics: The museum features modern architecture and is located on an area of 1,500 sq.m and an open-air exhibition area and flower gardens. 

 

 
   

 

   

Quang Ninh Museum was founded in 1960 under the original name of the Historical and Revolutionary Museum of  Hong Quang at 5B Cau Cao, Hong Gai Town (Halong City now). In 1964, Hong Quang Area was merged with Hai Ninh Province to form the new province of Quang Ninh and the museum took its new name following the merger.
During periods of war, all documents and artifacts from the museum were evacuated to various sites while the building of 5B Cau Cao was leveled in the dust by bombing.
In 1990, People’s Committee of the province decided to build Quang Ninh Museum at 165 Nguyen Van Cu, Halong City (former place of Quang Ninh Import and Export Company).
Exhibitions include: the early Halong culture; Ly and Tran Dynasties culture; culture of Quang Ninh's ethnic groups; times of wars; the history of the region's coal industry; revolutionary tradition of working class in mining area; Uncle Ho with Quang Ninh and Quang Ninh Province in renovation time. Over the last 40 years, the museum has found and preserved over 10,000 artifacts.

 

   

 

   
 

 

Quynh Lam Pagoda

Location: Quynh Lam Pagoda was built on a hill in the Trang An Commune, Dong Trieu District, Quang Ninh Province, about 3.5km from Dong Trieu Townlet and 83km from Halong City.
Characteristics: The pagoda was built at the Pre-Ly Dynasty (about the end of the 5th century, begin of the 6th century) and has been restored many times under the Dinh, Early Le, Ly, Tran, Le Dynasties.

 

 
   

 

   

Before the pagoda is a great lake, while the three remaining sides are surrounded by hills and mountains. It was embellished and completed in Ly, Tran Dynasties. During the 11th and 14th centuries - the end of Le Dynasty and in the 17th and 18th centuries, it developed into the main centre of Buddhism for the entire country.
In the 14th century the Quynh Lam Pagoda became an even more important Buddhist centre with the activities of the monk Phap Loa Dong Kien Cuong: a member of the second generation of the Truc Lam Buddhist sect. It was the centre for sacred books and for preaching Buddhism, as well as a training-site for future pagoda wardens. Many associations, famous in Vietnamese literature and history, were organized here.
The ritual festivities of the Quynh Lam Pagoda are held from the first to the fourth day of the second lunar month, but the festive atmosphere lasts through spring. Buddhist faithful flock here from all corners of the country.
In 1319, Phap Loa calls for blood donation from Buddhist followers to print over 5,000 copies of Dai Tang sutras, which are kept at Quynh Lam Buddhist Institute. In 1328, he had a statue of Maitreya cast. A year later, he brought a part of the bone ash of Nhan Tong (the 1st patriarch of the Truc Lam Zen sect) to put into the stone stupa in Quynh Lam Pagoda. In early 15th century, the pagoda was reduced to ruins and had to undergo many restorations. In 1727, the 7-storey Tich Quang Stupa (grave of monk Chan Nguyen, who made great contribution to the pagoda) was set up, which measures up to 10 meters. The stupa's top takes the shape of a banyan bud. To the stupa is attached a plate which notes down the biography of monk Chan Nguyen. In mid-18th century, the pagoda underwent a major restoration. It now also has bronze bells and stone gongs.


  

   

 

   
 

 

Tien Cong Shrine

Location: Tien Cong Shrine is built next to the Cam La Commune People's Committee, in the Yen Hung District, Quang Ninh Province.
Characteristics: The shrine is dedicated to the cult of the 19 founding fathers, who built dykes on the sea, creating the Ha Nam Island with its seven communes.

 

 
   

 

   

The ancient shrine was rebuilt during the third year of Emperor Gia Long's reign (1804), and since then has undergone many restorations.
The shrine was built according to the Chinese character "nhi" (=) which consists of a three-compartment and two lean-tos in the Front Ceremonial Hall, a three-compartment in the Back Sanctuary. The carving alter, stone stele, parallel sentences which marked the Nguyen Dynasty.
Festivities at the shrine take place annually on the seventh day of the first lunar month.
Formerly, the island was a submerged alluvial beach at the mouth of the Bach Dang River. In 1434, 19 elderly people born in the Hoai Duc District arrived here in search of a new land. They based themselves on the earthen roads above the water level and together with the local fishing people, built the dykes.


 

   

 

   
 

 

Tra Co Communal House

Location: Tra Co Communal House is situated next to a beautiful beach in Tra Co Ward, Mong Cai City, Quang Ninh Province.
Characteristics: It was built in 1462 but since then has gone through many restorations. The communal house is devoted to the cult of the tutelary genies who were six founders of the village and they came from Haiphong.

 

 
   

 

   

It is built in the shape of the letter dinh (J). Its Front Ceremonial Hall has five compartments and two lean-tos. Its Back Sanctuary includes three compartments. The decorative themes here are rich and diversified, including: dragons, unicorns, tortoises and phoenixes. They are represented with very elaborate artistic carvings.
Covering an area of 405m2, the communal house has 48 ironwood pillars. Its main pillars are 4.65m high and 1.5m in perimeter, set up by carpenters from Thanh Hoa. Its roof is slightly sagging and its four scimitar edges curve upwards. The beam heads are carved with dragon's heads. Inside the communal house there are tens of exquisite carvings and gilded parallel panels. Its cua vong (arch door) feature carved images of female fairies riding dragons flying in cloud, above bobbing sea waves. The upper part of the doors shows the motif of dragon flanking the sun. Apart from four sacred animals (dragon, tortoise, unicorn, and phoenix), one can find long - necked horned spotted deer with short tail that are running or standing, holding chrysanthemums in their mouths.
Its Back Sanctuary covers 72m2. Here you can find a bas - relief lotus in a square flowered pattern. In front of the Back Sanctuary there is a "door" made out of silk embroidered with dragons and phoenixes.
The festival of Tra Co Communal House lasts from the 30th day of the fifth lunar month until the 6th day of the sixth lunar month.


 

   

 

   
 

 

Tran Hung Dao Temple in Quang Ninh

Location: Tran Hung Dao Temple is seated on an ancient silt bank in Yen Giang Commune, Yen Hung District, Quang Ninh Province, next to the Bach Dang River.
Characteristics: It is situated on the site where Tran Hung Dao won the great victory of Bach Dang in 1288, the witnesses of which were the wooden stakes submerged in the water

 

 
   

 

   

The temple is built according to the Chinese character "dinh" (J). Its Front Ceremonial Hall has three compartments, and its Back Ceremonies Hall comprises two compartments, and a Back Sanctuary. The remaining artefacts in the temple are a few parallel sentence boards praising the hero, eight finely engraved gongs and four royal decrees from Nguyen Emperors delivered to the wardens of the temple.
The ritual festivities of Tran Hung Dao Temple take place yearly on the eighth day of the third lunar month

 

 

   

 

   
 

 

Tran Quoc Nghien Temple

Location: The temple is situated in an elevation at the foot of Bai Tho Mount, in the area of Ben Doan - Hon Gai, Halong City, Quang Ninh Province, looking to the sea.
Characteristics: The temple is dedicated to Tran Quoc Nghien, one of Tran Hung Dao's sons and a brave, talented general in the resistance against the Yuan-Mongol invaders.

 

 
   

 

   

Tran Quoc Nghien was also famous for his filial piety, and faithfulness. In memory of his great contributions to the locality, the boat owners who often pass by Bai Tho Mount together set up a temple dedicated to him.
The temple has a three-compartment Ceremonial Hall, and a Back Sanctuary. The Holy Mother Temple lies to the right of the main temple. Inside the main temple, the middle altar is dedicated to Tran Quoc Nghien. The other two altars on the right and left sides are dedicated to the First Lady and Second Lady respectively. The Temple has a set of eight ornamental weapons, and various worshipping objects. It has undergone many restorations.
The captivating Temple is also famous for its sacredness. It has become a tourist destination in Halong City.

 

   

 

   
 

 

Trung Ban Communal House

Location: Trung Ban Communal House is located in the Thuong Hamlet, Trung Ban Village, Lien Hoa Commune, Yen Hung District, Quang Ninh Province.
Characteristics: It is devoted to national hero Tran Hung Dao - the tutelary genie of the village.

 

 
   

 

   

It is built in the shape of the letter "dinh" (J) in an area of 1,732m2 in the 15th century. Its Front Ceremonial Hall has five compartments and Back Ceremonial Hall comprises three compartments. Its Back Sanctuary includes two compartments. Surrounding is poetic and peaceful rice field, forest trees, villages, and bamboo.
Today it preserves some valuable artefacts from the Later Le and Nguyen Dynasties, such as: two stone steles engravings, an ornate bed, parallel sentence boards and six royal decrees from Nguyen Emperors. There is also a magnificent statue of Tran Hung Dao, seated on a throne ornately carved with dragons, with his hair floating behind him and his clothes, hat, turban and belt elaborately sculpted and engraved.
It holds ritual festivals closely related to those of the Yen Giang Communal House, Tran Hung Dao Temple, Shrine of the Lady King or Vua Ba and Trung Coc Communal House on the 8th day of the third lunar month: the anniversary of the great victory on the Bach Dang River in 1288.

 

   

 

   
 

 

Trung Coc Temple

Location: Trung Coc Temple is seated on a high earthen mound in the middle of the Dong Coc Hamlet of Nam Hoa Commune, Yen Hung District, Quang Ninh Province.
Characteristics: The temple is dedicated to national heroes Tran Hung Dao and Pham Ngu Lao.

 

 
   

 

   

Long ago, it was built using bamboo and thatch as materials, but in 1807 it was rebuilt as it is seen today.
It was built according to the Chinese character "dinh" (J) which consists of a three-compartment in the Front Ceremonial Hall, a two-compartment in the Back Sanctuary.
The temple has two statues of Tran Hung Dao and Pham Ngu Lao, and still preserves royal decrees conferring honourable titles on the heroes. The ritual festivities take place yearly on the eighth day of the third lunar month.
Legends has it, that in order to build the stake-yard at the mouth of the Kenh River, the two general, Tran Hung Dao and Pham Ngu Lao, took a boat, but were stopped by an earthen mound in the hamlet of Dong Coc. They had to mobilize people, military men and fisherman to come and drive their boat off the mound. To remember the event, after the victory on the Bach Dang River, the people built this temple on the site where the boat was caught.

 

   

 

   
 

 

Vua Ba Shrine

Location: The Vua Ba Shrine (Shrine of the Lady King) is located in the Yen Giang Commune, in the Yen Hung District, Quang Ninh Province.
Characteristics: It was built during the Tran Dynasty on an ancient earthen mound, next to an ancient river wharf. Festivities here take place yearly on the eighth day of the third lunar month.

 

 
   

 

   

Legend says that while on an inspection tour of the terrain where he prepared the future battle of Bach Dang, Tran Hung Dao passed near the wharf and met an old woman. He questioned her, and she answered by supplying him with the times of the river�s tides, the topography of the region and suggested to him to use fire against his enemy. After the victory, Tran Hung Dao returned to the wharf to look for the old woman, but could not find her. He asked the Emperor to give her the title of "Lady King" and had a shrine built to dedicate her.

 

 

   

 

   
 

 

Yen Duc Site

Location: Situated at a three-way crossroads between Hai Duong, Quang Ninh and Haiphong, Yen Duc Site can be found outside the small village of Don Son, Yen Duc Commune, Dong Trieu District, Quang Ninh Provinces.
Characteristics: The site has been a source of inspiration for poets of successive dynasties who have engraved their works on Cat Mountain

 

 
   

 

   

There are five symbolic mountains in the rolling chain: Canh Mountain (symbolizing the art of ploughing fields); Dong Thoc Mountain (symbolizing prosperity); Thung Mountain (symbolizing rice mortar); Con Chuot (Mouse) Mountain (symbolizing the destruction of a paddy); and Con Meo (Cat) Mountain (symbolizing a cat lying in wait for a mouse).
On Thung Mountain, there is also a temple dedicated to the eight founding fathers of the hamlet and Canh Huong Pagoda devoted to Buddha. During the resistance against the French colonialists, the Canh Mountain held a cave where the Vietnamese army stored food, armaments and people. It also served as a shelter during air attacks.
Yen Duc festivities take place annually on the 16th day of the first lunar month.

 

   

 

   
 

 

Yen Giang Communal House

Location: Yen Giang Communal House is situated on a high mound in the center of Yen Giang Commune, Yen Hung District, Quang Ninh Province.
Characteristics: It was built in the 16th century to honour national hero Tran Hung Dao. It was rebuilt in 1993

 

 
   

 

   

It is built in the shape of the letter dinh (J). Its Front Ceremonial Hall has five compartments. Its Back Ceremonial Hall has three compartments. Its Back Sanctuary includes one compartment.
The building still preserves a delicate china incense burner from the Le Dynasty, two stone engravings with designs of dragons from the Nguyen Dynasty, parallel sentence boards and six decrees from Emperors Nguyen conferring to Tran Hung Dao the title of tutelary genie of the village; Five King's chairs, a pair of eight pole palanquin; a royal court was carved with dragon and red lacquer trimmed with gold flowers and leaves which marked from Nguyen Dynasty.
The festivities at the communal house take place on the eighth day of the third lunar month every year.

 

   

 

   
 

 

Yen Lap Lake - Loi Am Pagoda

Location: The Yen Lap - Loi Am Pagoda belong to Dai Yen Commune, Hoanh Bo District, Quang Ninh Province.
Characteristics: Yen Lap Lake is the greatest hydraulic construction in the province. After completion, the water level raised, surrounding the base of the mountains

 

 
   

 

   

Boating across the lake, you come to the remains of the Loi Am Pagoda, which was built in the 15th century on a mountain of the same name. Formerly, it attracted tourists and faithful from every corner of the country. Under the tumultuous periods of Vietnam's history, the pagoda was destroyed but the visitors can find garden of stupas and an incense tree from the 17th century in the immense space of the pagoda.
Loi Am festivities take place on the 27th day of the first lunar month every year.

 

 

   

 

   
 

 

Yen Tu Tourisr Site

Location: The area of Yen Tu belongs to the village of Thuong Yen Cong Commune, Uong Bi Town. It is about 40km from Halong City and 14km from center of Uong Bi Town.
Characteristics: It consist of a system of pagodas, shrines, towers and forests.

 

 
   

 

   

Situated within the immense arched mountain range of north-eastern Vietnam, Yen Tu Mountain bears at its peak the Dong Pagoda: at an altitude of 1,068m above sea level. The beauty of Yen Tu consists in the majesty of its mountains mingling with the ancient and solemn quietness of its pagodas, shrines and towers.
You can get to Hoa Yen Pagoda at the altitude of 534m by the cable car system recently put into operation and will see on this peak two 700-year-old frangipane trees. From there, you will continue walking up stairs to pagodas of minor note lined up along the path leading to Dong Pagoda. There you will feel like walking on clouds. If the weather is agreeable, from this summit you can admire the dramatic landscape of the northeast of Vietnam.
In spring, Yen Tu attracts a large number of tourists going on pilgrimage and sightseeing. Yen Tu Festival begins on the 10th day of the first lunar month and lasts until the end of third lunar month.
Under the Ly Dynasty, Yen Tu held the Phu Van Pagoda, with Yen Ky Sinh as its warden. But Yen Tu only really became a Buddhism centre when Emperor Tran Nhan Tong surrendered his throne to establish a Buddhist sect called Thien Truc Lam and became the first progenitor with the religious name Dieu Ngu Giac Hoang Tran Nhan Tong (1258-1308). He ordered building hundreds of constructions, large and small on Yen Tu Mountain for leading a religious life, sermonizing. After his death, his successor, Phap Loa Dong Kien Cuong (1284 - 1330) the second progenitor of Thien Truc Lam, compiled a set of book “Thach that ngon ngu” and ordered the building of 800 pagodas, shrines and towers with thousands of value statues throughout 19 years of religious life. Some famous pagodas are Quynh Lam, Ho Thien. There is the third progenitor of Thien Truc Lam, Huyen Quang Ly Dao Tai (1254 - 1334), in the sermonizing centre of Phap Loa.
Passing through to the Le and Nguyen Dynasties, Yen Tu became the focal point of Vietnamese Buddhism, and was often subject to restorations. It is a meeting place of different styles from various historic periods: visible in the many different designs and decorations that ornate its constructions.