List of King Tombs and Tourist sites in Hue


 

   

 

   
 

 

Tomb of Dong Khanh

Location: Tomb of Dong Khanh is located on the land of Cu Si Hamlet, now Thuong Hai Village, Thuy Xuan Commune, Hue City.
Characteristic: Dong Khanh's Tomb construction lasted through the lives of four Emperors Nguyen (1888-1923). That's why it bears the stamp of two architectural inclinations of two different historical periods

 

 
   

 

   

 

After being crowned, Dong Khanh had a temple built beside his father's tomb named Truy Tu to worship him. In February 1888, during the construction, Dong Khanh got sick and died. Emperor Thanh Thai came to the crown. He had to use Truy Tu Temple and renamed it Ngung Hy for the cult of Emperor Dong Khanh. His corpse was buried simply on a hill named "Ho Thuan Son", 30m to the west of Ngung Hy Temple. The whole tomb area was called Tu Lang.
In 1916, when Khai Dinh, Dong Khanh’s son, was crowned, he had the temple renovated and the tomb built for his father. In July 1917, the tomb was accomplished. Ngung Hy Temple and its dependent houses, in particular, continued to be repaired and were finished in May 1923.

         
   

Tomb of Duc Duc

Location: Tomb of Duc Duc is located in An Cuu Ward, Hue City, Thua Thien - Hue Province.
Characteristics: In comparison with the tombs of other Emperors, Duc Duc's tomb presents a simpler and modest architecture.

   
         

The whole rectangular tomb has a surface of 3,445m2. Inside, there are no temple or stone statues. The entrance is a rather big triple gate made of brick and topped with a false roof. Behind the gate, the Honour courtyard does not contain stone statues either, but is decorated instead with parapets. Next, is another three-layer triple gate, also with a false roof, and decorated with designs enhanced with ceramic chips.
In the middle of the surrounding wall (Buu Thanh) is Huynh Oc house, roofed with yellow tiles. The interior decoration is simple: one bed and one table made of Thanh stone used to place altar and offerings during ceremonies. On each side, the graves of Emperor Duc Duc and Queen Tu Minh lie symmetrically. The screen in front of the Emperor tomb bears two words "Song Hy" or "double happiness".
Long An Temple is in the centre of the area, built after the model of the existing palaces in Hue. Inside are three altars dedicated to the three emperors: Duc Duc (in the middle, with his wife), Thanh Thai (on the left) and Duy Tan (on the right). These two patriotic emperors (Thanh Thai and Duy Tan) rest in the back of Long An. There are also tombs of the Emperor's relatives.


         
   

Tomb of Gia Long

Location: Tomb of Gia Long is located 16km from the center of Hue, on the top of the Thien Tho Mountain, on the west bank of the Perfume River.
Characteristic: The tomb of Gia Long is in fact a group of tombs including those of the Emperor's relatives. The whole compound is spread on a joint mountain with 42 small and big mounts, amongst which Dai Thien Tho is the biggest.

   
         

To visit Gia Long's tomb, tourists can go by boat about 18km along the Perfume River and then land directly at the wharf of the tomb, or they can go about 16km by car to Kim Ngoc wharf, take the bac from there and walk for some more kilometers.
The Emperor's Tomb is located on a flat, big hill. In the front, Thien Tho Mount forms a natural screen, and in the back seven hills raise like natural defenses. On the left, 14 peaks form the "left blue dragons" (Ta Thanh Long), and on the right, another 14 form the "right white tigers" (Huu Bach Ho).

The tomb complex is composed of three areas:
- In the middle: There are the double-grave tomb of the Emperor and Queen Thua Thien. Passing the Honor Court, visitors can see imposing stone statues. Seven steps of the worship-yard lead to Buu Thanh on the hill top. Inside Buu Thanh, the stone double-grave is built according to the concept of "Can Khon Hiep Duc", a symbol of happiness and loyalty.
- On the right: The main monument is Minh Thanh Temple, dedicated to the Emperor and his first Queen. Formerly, it used to contain many artefacts rela
ted to Gia Long's military life.
- On the left: The main monument is the stele pavilion. Nowadays, only the stele is left, minutely inscribed with Emperor Minh Mang's
singing of the late Emperor's praises.
To move along the paths among the grass and wild flowers, under the fresh shady pines, tourists can visit other neighboring tombs in this section such as Quang Hung Tomb (the second wife of Lord Hien Vuong Nguyen Phuc Tan (1620- 1687), mother of Lord Nguyen Phuc Tran), Vinh Mau Tomb (the wife of Lord Nguyen Phuc Tran (1650-1691); Thoai Thanh Tomb (the second wife of Nguyen Phuc Luan and mother of Emperor Gia Long). The most noticeable one is the tomb of Queen Thuan Thien, mother of Emperor Minh Mang. Next to it is Gia Thanh Temple, dedicated to her.
Gia Long's tomb is a wonderful picture of nature and architecture, which provides a superb view of the boundless mountains and the solitary pine forest.

         
   

Tomb of Khai Dinh

Location: Tomb of Khai Dinh is located on the slope of Chau Chu Mountain (also called Chau E), 10km from Hue City.
Characteristic: In comparison with those of the preceding emperors, Khai Dinh’s tomb is much smaller in surface (117m x 48.5m) but it is very elaborate. It is the result of the interminglement of many architectural trends: European and Asian, as well as ancient and modern.

   
         

The construction of the tomb was started on September 4th, 1920 and lasted for 11 years. The overall construction of the tomb is an emerging rectangular structure with 127 steps, leaning against the mountain.- Entering the tomb area, one should climb a 37 steps gate with the biggest dragons in the country forming the side walls. In the courtyard, line two rows of left and right altar built according to traditional configuration of "double storeys with eight roofs", but all the rafters are made of reinforced concrete.
Climbing 29 further steps, one is reaching the imperial audience court, in the centre of which stands the octagonal stele monument also made of reinforced concrete. On both sides of the courtyard, two rows of statues are facing towards the court center. In addition to these statues, similar to those of the other tombs, there are six more couples representing bodyguard soldiers. These statues are made of stone, a material very rare in Khai Dinh's tomb. The courtyard is flanked on both sides by two high and imposing pillars.
Visitors have to go up three more levels in order to reach the altar monument. The Khai Thanh Palace is the main room of the Thien Dinh Palace, which contains many connecting rooms. The walls are densely decorated and inlaid with elaborate glass and porcelain designs. The floor is covered with enameled flowers bricks and the ceiling is painted with nine dragons, appearing in fine fleeting clouds. The rear room of the Khai Thanh Palace constitutes the main temple, which contains the statue of Khai Dinh, his grave and his altar. The tomb of Khai Dinh is one of the most surprising among the royal tombs of Hue.


 

         
   

Tomb of Minh Mang

Location: Tomb of Minh Mang is located 12km form Hue, on Cam Ke mount, near Bang Lang fork, on the west bank of the Perfume River.
Characteristic: Minh Mang's tomb is a standard architectural complex consisting of 40 constructions (palaces, temples, pavilions, etc.) designed on an symmetric axis running from Dai Hong gate to the foot of La Thanh (Surrounding Wall) behind the Emperor's tomb.

   
         

In September 1840, the construction of the tomb began. In January 1841, while the work was implemented, Minh Mang was sick and passed away. Emperor Thieu Tri, his successor to the throne, continues this task according to his father’s plans. Emperor Minh Mang's corpse was buried in Buu Thanh on August 20th, 1841. The construction was fully completed in 1843.
The constructions are distributed into three main parallel axis of which Than Dao path is the centre.
Dai Hong Mon: It is the main gate to enter the tomb. The gate presents three paths with 24 heaving roofs covered with beautiful decorations. The gate was opened only once to bring the Emperor's coffin to the tomb, and had been tightly closed since then. Visitors have to use the two side-gates Ta Hong Mon (Left Gate) and Huu Hong Mon (Right Gate).
Bi Dinh: Behind Dai Hong Mon (big gate) is the Honour Courtyard with its two rows of mandarins, elephants and horses’ statues. Bi Dinh (Stele Pavilion) is on Mount Phung Than. Inside is the stele "Thanh Duc Than Cong", inscribed with the Emperor's biography and merits written by his son Thieu Tri.

The temple area:
The Salutation Court is divided into four steps - The Hien Duc Mon (gate) leads to the worship place. In the centre is Sung An Temple surrounded by Ta, Huu Phoi Dien (Left, Right Temples) in the front and Ta, Huu Tung Phong (Left, Right Rooms) in the back. The Emperor and Queen Ta Thien Nhan are worshipped in Sung An Temple. Then, Hoang Trach Mon (gate) leads to the Bright Pavilion (Minh Lau), built on Tam Tai Mount. It is a square pavilion with two storeys and eight roofs. On both sides of Minh Lau, two obelisks stand on the hills. In the back of Minh Lau are two flower gardens designed as the character "Longevity".

The tomb (Buu Thanh):
Tan Nguyet (
New Moon) crescent Lake embraces the circular Buu Thanh (The wall surrounding the grave). There are three bridges on Tan Nguyet Lake. Visitors have to climb 33 Thanh stone steps to reach the sepulchre of the Emperor. Besides nearly 60 word boxes of carved poems in the Stele Pavilion, Hien Duc gate, Sung An Temple, and Minh Pavilion are also remarkable and constitute an anthology of chosen poems of Vietnam’s early 19th century.
Visiting Minh Mang’s tomb, one is impressed by the majesty and symmetry of the architectural constructions.


 

         
   

Tomb of Thieu Tri

Location: Tomb of Thieu Tri lies in Chu Chanh Village, Thuy Bang Commune, Huong Thuy District, about 8km from center of  Hue City.
Characteristic: The tomb can be divided into two parts: the tomb area and temple area. 

   
         

After being on the throne for seven years, Emperor Thieu Tri was sick and died on 4 November 1847 at the age of 41. In his lifetime, the Emperor neither thought of his death nor wanted the people and soldiers to waste so much labour and property for him, so he did not have his tomb built.
As soon as coming to the crown, his son Emperor Tu Duc had the royal geomancers to seek land for his father's tomb. On February 11th 1848, the construction started, and 10 months later, it was completed.
The tomb can be divided into two parts: the tomb area and temple area.

 The tomb area:
On the right with Nhuan Trach Lake is the bronze gate leading to big Binh Dai (Honour Courtyard). The two rows of stone statues on the left and right of the court are typical of the sculpture art in the first half of 19th century in Hue. Then, one can see Bi Dinh (Stele Pavilion) and Duc Hinh Tower on a tortoise-shell-shaped hill. Ngung Thuy Lake looks like a crescent moon barring in front, the walls of the tomb itself (Buu Thanh). Across the lake are three bridges: Chanh Trung (in the middle), Dong Hoa (on the right), Tay Dinh (on the left) leading to the stairs going to Buu Thanh.

 The temple area:
It was built separately, 100m from Duc Hinh Tower, on the left. After passing the marble gate and another three steps leading to Bieu Duc temple, visitors will go through Hong Trach gate. In the middle is Bieu Duc temple, where the funerary tablets of the Emperor and the Queen Tu Du are worshipped. In the main temple, on the edges of the roof and Hong Trach gate, are engraved over 450 word boxes including poems with educational and literary values. All the dependent works gathered around Buu Duc Temple such as Left and Right Temple (in the front), Left and Right Houses (in the back), increase the nobility of the main temple.
Thieu Tri's tomb, with its simple and intimate beauty, leans against the foot of Thuan Dao Mount. In front of the tomb stretches a flat land with green trees and rice-fields ranging from the Perfume River’s bank up to Lim Bridge.


         
   

Tomb of Tu Duc

Location: Tomb of Tu Duc is located in a narrow valley in Duong Xuan Thuong Village (currently Thuong Ba Village, Thuy Xuan Commune, Hue City).
Characteristic: It is one of the most beautiful works of royal architecture of the Nguyen dynasty. The tomb lies in a boundless pine forest, 8km from Hue city-centre. Its construction started in December 1864 and finished in 1867.

   
         

On an area of about 12ha wide, nearly 50 constructions were built on terraces of various levels (about 10m difference). All constructions include the word Khiem (Modesty) in their names.
The tomb is divided into two main parts:

The temple area:
Entering Vu Khiem entrance, there is Luu Khiem Lake. On the lake are Xung Khiem Pavilion and Du Khiem Pavilion where the Emperor used to come to admire flowers, compose poems, read books, etc. Then, three Thanh stone steps to Khiem Cung Gate lead to Hoa Khiem Palace, which used to be the Emperor's working place, and is now the altar devoted to the Emperor and the Queen. On both sides are Phap Khiem House and Le Khiem House for the military and civil mandarins.
Behind Hoa Khiem Palace is Luong Khiem Palace, which was also the Emperor's resting place, and was later used to worship Mrs. Tu Du (Tu Duc's Mother). On the right of Luong Khiem Palace stand On Khiem Palace, where the royal utensils are kept. On the left of Luong Khiem Palace is Minh Khiem Theatre. Then, comes Chi Khiem, the altar to worship the Emperor's wives, Tri Khiem Palace and Y Khiem Palace were the accommodations of the Emperor's concubines.

The tomb area:
On the left of the temple is the necropolis itself slopping upward with the Honour Courtyard, the Stele Pavilion, and the sepulture. Right behind Bai Dinh (Honour Courtyard), with two rows of magnificent military and civil mandarins, is Bi Dinh (Stele Pavilion) with the biggest stone stele in Vietnam. It is inscribed with Khiem Cung narrative, composed by the Emperor himself, writing about his life and imperial cause as well as his misadventures and diseases, etc. On the hill, opposite the semi-circular Tieu Khiem Tri Lake is the Buu Thanh brick wall, in the middle is a stone house, where the Emperor was buried.
Tu Duc’s tomb is not only one of the most beautiful works of the Nguyen Dynasty, but it is also romantic scenery of mounts and lakes.

 

         
   

Bach Ma Mountain

Location: Bach Ma (White Horse) Mountain is located in Phu Loc District, 60km from the south of Hue City.
Characteristic: It is about 1,450m above sea level in a transition zone of the northern and southern climate, so it bears a temperate climate, similar to Sa Pa, Tam Dao, Da Lat, etc.

   
         

There, the green vegetation is abundant all the year round. The animals are also rich with chirps and calls all days and nights which sound both wild and familiar... Bach Ma Mount also has many limpid brooks and picturesque waterfalls. At the 16th kilometer on Cau Hai - Bach Ma road, turning left and walk for 20 to 30 minutes, tourists will also find 400m high, 20m wide Do Quyen Waterfall which suddenly appears as if it were suspended in the sky... In the summer, rhododendron flowers are blooming on both sides of the fall like two huge flowery silk carpets. In the centre of the resort is Bac (Silver) Waterfall, only 10m high and 40m wide and look like a spotless white curtain swayed by the wind.
More than half a century ago, the French recognized the beauty of Bach Ma and began to develop it. Within 5 years (1942-1946), 139 villas were continuously built under the foliage of old trees and by sheer cliffs. From the top of Bach Ma, people can view landscapes of Hai Van Pass, Tuy Van Mount, Cau Hai Lagoon with heaving fishing boats and even the shimmering electrical lights of Hue city at night as well as the huge and boundless Eastern Sea.

         
   

Bach Ma National Park

Location: Bach Ma National Park is approximately 50km south of Hue City.
Characteristics: It has a temperate climate much like that of Dalat, Sapa and Tam Dao. However, since it is located so close to the sea, the temperature in winter never goes below 4oC (39.2oF) and the highest temperature in summer never exceeds 26oC (79oF). 

   
         

Given these advantages, the French transformed Bach Ma into a summer resort in the early 1930s. The area comprises 139 villas and auxiliary buildings, such as the post office, bank, tennis court, etc. Unfortunately, the war and lack of maintenance have significantly affected these constructions.
In 1986, after 10 years of reunification, the State established a network of 87 natural reserves including Bach Ma. On 15 July 1991, the Bach Ma National Park was officially founded.
Bach Ma has breath-taking natural landscapes. The highest peak is Hai Vong Dai (Sea Observation Post), 1,450m high, where people can have a panoramic view of the immense sea and surrounding scenery. Do Quyen Waterfall is astounding and huge in the wooded mountain. It is more than 300m high and 20-30m wide. It is amazing to watch the silver water running into the bright red of water-rail flowers. Bac Chi Waterfall, about 20m high, roars all year round. Five lakes - a system of large lakes - has clean and cool water, created by the block of black granite stretching along Kim Qui Spring. This is a good place for camping, bathing, and outdoor activities.
Still, the beautiful National Park houses 931 species of animals of which 83 wildlife species, including tigers and monkeys. It is also Home to 333-odd species of birds known to inhabit Vietnam. More than 1,406 species of plants have also been identified. Apart from ecotourism, the Bach Ma National Park has an advantage of being close to Vietnam's three world cultural heritage sites (Hue Imperial City, Hoi An Ancient Town and My Son Cham Towers).
So, tourists usually add the park to their itinerary. With highly-valued natural resources, Bach Ma does not only gratify thousands of visitors but also attract scientists.  The best time to visit Bach Ma is from February to September. Admission is 10,000VND. It is open from 7 am to 5pm.

         
   

Canh Duong Beach

Location: Canh Duong Beach is located about 60km from Hue City, between the two mountains: Western Chan May and Eastern Chan May.
Characteristic: Canh Duong is one of the most beautiful beaches of Thua Thien-Hue Province with the length of 8km, 200m wide, bended in arc shape.

   
         

Gradually sloping beach, white and fine sand, transparent and limpid sea water and fairly windless, the beach is ideal for all activities of tourism and sport.

 

 

 

         
   

Lang Co Beach

Location: Lang Co Beach is about 10km long in Lang Co Town, Phu Loc District, Thua Thien - Hue Province, located next to the National Highway 1A, near Hai Van Pass.
Characteristics: Lang Co has become officially the 30th member of the "World's Most Beautiful Bays" club (Worldbays Club) since June 2009.

   
         

Lang Co is an ideal place for beach lovers. Situated on the central coast of Vietnam with many famous beautiful beaches, Lang Co with its gradually slopping, white sand, blue sea, and the average temperature of 25oC in the summer, is an attractive destination for both domestic and international tourists.
With attractive natural landscape, lies on the most beautiful curve of the country, Lang Co has almost everything that the nature can offer: green mountains and tropical forests, smooth white sand, full of sunshine and cool, blue and clear sea as crystal. It is the 3rd bay of Viet Nam, after Ha Long and Nha Trang named in the list of 30 most beautiful bays in the world.
So stunning, in the Nguyen Dynasty, the Royal Step-over Palace named Tinh Viem (abating the hot weather) had been built here for the king's family members. The French also left their traces here, related to the name of this land. Lang Co, it is probably derived from "Lang Co" (literally means Stork Village) or L 'An Cu (An Cu - Settle down) - its original names when the French pronounced as Lang Co. Nowadays, many modern resorts has been going to build here.
It seems like nobody can resist a nature beauty like Lang Co town. This small and peaceful town will give you the most relaxing time and many games at the beach. In addition, you will have good time to enjoy the seafood with various kinds of shrimps, lobster, sea shrimp, crab, butter-fish, mackerel fish, oysters... and not far from the beach are some attractions such as Chan May scenery, Lang Co fishing Village. 
Located on the "Central Heritage Road", Lang Co is very close to other famous attractions such as the Imperial City of Hue, Hoi An Ancient Town, Son Tra Peninsula where the famous Son Tra Natural Reserve and beautiful beaches located, and so many more. The beauty of Lang Co Bay, Hai Van Pass, Bach Ma National Park and a fishing village in this area always attract many tourists by a wonderful harmonious combination between human and nature.
Lang Co is 60km from the centre of Hue City but about 40km from Phu Bai International Airport. If visitors drive to Lang Co from Da Nang City through Hai Van Tunnel, the longest road tunnel in Southeast Asia, the distance will be about 25km. However, the longer way, about 40km, is still the choice of many adventure lovers to drive on the pass to contemplate the beauty and majestic of Hai Van Pass and Lang Co Bay from above.

         
   

Mineral Stream of My An

Location: My An is located in Phu Duong Commune, Phu Vang District, 7km east of Hue, on the way to Thuan An Beach.
Characteristics: This stream can be compared to various well-known mineral streams, such as Koundour (former Soviet Union) or Pavel Banis (Bulgaria).

   
         

After ten years of hard fightingIn June 1979, geological and meteorological expedition No.79 discovered this natural stream. After multiple scientific studies and experiments, the project “Studying medical qualities of the mineral stream in My An” came to the conclusion that the mineral water in My An includes every micro-element necessary for the human body.
Tests concerning the medicinal value of the mineral water have had positive results. The water of this stream can be used to successfully treat several skin and venereal diseases, rheumatism, digestion, mental, respiratory and other chronic diseases.
At present, many local and foreign patients come to My An for self-treatment. Huong Giang Tourist Company and related administrative bodies of Thua Thien - Hue have begun to take advantage of this mineral source by developing what will be the first tourist resort in Central Vietnam to focus on medical treatment by mineral water.

 

         
   

Ngu Binh Mountain

Location: Ngu Binh Mountain is located in Hue City.
Characteristics: Ngu Binh Mountain was called Bang Son (Even Mount) and renamed Ngu Binh by Emperor Gia Long. It was chosen as a screen in front of the Hue Capital City.

   
         

The 105m Ngu Binh has a striking and symmetric figure. On both sides of the Bang Son (Even Mount) are 2 small mounts called Ta Bat Son (Left Mount) and Huu Bat Son (Right Mount). Its top is flat with pine trees every where. The Nguyen Dynasty was established and decided to build up the Hue Capital City.
Together with the Perfume River, Ngu Binh Mount is the second invaluable gift endowed by Nature to Hue. These two mingle with each other creating the Romantic Mountain and river beauty of Hue. For a long time, this beautiful mount and the blue limpid Perfume River have become the symbol of Hue City. Therefore, people often call Hue "The land of the Perfume River (Huong River) and Ngu Binh Mount" or "Huong-Ngu Land".
 For many centuries, many generations of poets and travelers have recognized it a wonderful place to admire nature. On fine days, from the top of Ngu Binh Mount, people can view all the sights of Hue City with magnificent palaces, ancient pagoda roofs and the blue limpid Perfume River winding in and out... Right in front of people's eyesight stretch boundless pine forests on the hills and large plains of Huong Thuy, Phu Vang, Huong Tra Districts with green plants and trees. In the distance is the endless dark purple Truong Son range hidden behind silver clouds... Towards the east is a dim white sand strip and Thuan An Estuary in the distance with the deep blue Eastern Sea.
Some kilometers away from Ngu Binh Mount is Vong Canh Hill, another beautiful spot of Hue which reflects itself charmingly in the Perfume River, opposite to Ngoc Tran Mount. From the Vong Canh Hill, people can behold green fruit gardens with areca palm, longan, orange, mandarin, grape fruit shades, etc. Mingling with pine trees, grey roofs of pagodas and temples, as well as the ancient and meditative tombs... The Perfume River looks like a soft silk strip winding at the foot of the hill. Once tourists come here at mist fading dawn or in sunset, they will understanding and are heartfelt the romantic beauty of a hill, a river, a corner of Hue's sky...

         
   

Perfume River (Huong River)

Location: Deriving from Truong Son Mountain, the two springs Ta Trach (Left Tributary) and Huu Trach (Right Tributary) meet at the junction of Bang Lang fork and create the Perfume River.
Characteristics: Looking like “a silver sword upright to the sky”, Perfume River is really an invaluable godsend to Hue City.

   
         

From Bang Lang to Thuan An estuary, the Perfume River is 30km long (The river level is not much above that of the sea) so that the river runs very slowly. The colour of the Perfume River is darker when it runs along the foot of Ngoc Tran Mount - the Jade Cup Temple (Dien Hon Chen) - where there is a very deep abyss.
The Perfume River is beautiful sight from its source, and runs among mountains, forest trees, plants, etc, bringing with it fragrances of tropical flora. The river runs slowly through the verdant and shady villages of Kim Long, Nguyet Bieu, Vy Da, Dong Ba, Gia Hoi, Dinh market, Nam Pho, Bao Vinh, mingling with the odors of flowers of Hue... The river with the shimmer blue limpid colour is like a pearl in the sun. Boats are rowed up and down with remote, meditative and deep folk melodies at deep night. It is an eternal pleasure for many generations of tourists who go boating to behold the poetic landscape, to listen to the folk melodies of Hue in tranquil nights.
The views on both sides of the river with the citadel, town, gardens, pagodas, towers and temples, etc. and their reflections in the waters make the already loveable river even more poetic and musical. Many people think that Hue city has peaceful, gentle and tranquil landscapes mostly thanks to the Perfume River. This river brings to the city a meditative poetic characteristics and the harmonious limpidity exhaling from a land of age-old culture.
Together with the Perfume River, 105m Ngu Binh Mount is the second invaluable gift endowed by Nature to Hue. These two mingle with each other creating the Romantic Mountain and river beauty of Hue. For a long time, this beautiful mount and the blue limpid Perfume River have become the symbol of Hue city. Therefore, people often call Hue "The land of the Perfume River (Huong River) and Ngu Binh Mount" or "Huong-Ngu Land".

 

         
   

Tam Giang Lagoon

Location: Tam Giang Lagoon is located in Huong Tra District, Thua Thien-Hue Province.
Characteristic: Tam Giang Lagoon has a depth of 2 - 4m, in some places, of 7m, the immense water surface is an area of important economic activity bringing high income with its sea products.

   
         

Thua Thien-Hue Province plain along the sea coast has many lagoons, such as those of Tam Giang, Thuy Tu, Lap An, into them are converged the water of almost all the rivers of the province of Thua Thien Hue before going to the sea, through the mouths of Thuan An, Tu Hien, or through the great lagoon of Lang Co.
Tam Giang and Cau Hai are the 2 biggest lagoons with fresh water, the 2 most representative lagoons in Vietnam with a length of 70km for the whole of the two, they form an ideal habitant for many sea species all along the province.
Yearly thousands tons of sea products are brought on here (fish, shrimps and others). In the recent years, the cultivation and raising of sea products, mainly the raising of shrimps and cultivation of "gracilaria" has developed in this zone of lagoons.

 

         
   

Thuan An Beach

Location: Thuan An Beach is situated in Phu Vang District, near by Thuan An Mouth, where Huong River runs to Tam Giang Lagoon and then to the sea... far from Hue 15km.
Characteristic: Only 15 minutes by car, tourists are able to reach the beach. Plenty small boats, junks drift up an down the river in the left of the route, and on the right there are houses, temples, pagodas, rice field, and gardens successively spread out...

   
         

In the beginning of the 19th century, King Minh Mang named the place as Thuan An, assigned to build Tran Hai frontier post for the defense of the Capital.
Thuan An is a very enjoyable place for all tourists after a full day to visit Hue Citadel, mausoleums, pagodas, and Hue scenery... Thuan An is also the place, where Hue people gather to enjoy the fresh air and sea-bathing in summer time. Intensive activities of the beach lasts from April to September, while Hue temperature being fairly hot.
Sometimes, tourists are very crowded, and there are not enough places for their camping. Besides sea bathing, tourists are able to visit Thai Duong Temple, where Thai Duong Goddess is very esteemed by villagers or visit the temple devoted to the whale, the sacred animal of the local people. 

 

         
   

Vong Canh Hill

Location: Vong Canh hill is 600m from the tombs of Tu Duc and Dong Khanh, 7km from the center of Hue City.
Characteristics: It is not so beautiful and well-known as Mount Ngu. However, as it is called, Vong Canh Hill is a place where tourists can enjoy the lovely panorama of Hue especially the Kings Nguyen’s tombs. Click here to see photo..
.